History of the Ellicott City
In 1772, three brothers John, Andrew and Joseph Ellicott from Bucks County, Pennsylvania chose a scenic valley 10 miles west of Baltimore to build a flour mill. Soon, more mills sprung up in and around Ellicott Mills and the industrious area became an obvious choice for the first station stop on the B & O Railroad.
Most of the mills are now gone but the creative call to build and make things lives on as Ellicott City attracts artists, architects, software developers and shop owners with a flair for antiques, fashion and home decor.
Visitors to Ellicott City are immediately charmed by the unique Main Street nestled between an enormous rock *formation* that serves as a back wall to many buildings and the Tiber River that flows beneath the floorboards of shops across the way.